It was the first time I’d ever gone to Victoria’s Secret.  I wasn’t looking for some fancy frou-frou lingerie; I was just thinking it was time to get a little support in the upper regions.  So I skulked in like a tourist in a foreign land, and instantly, a sales girl approached me and attached like Velcro.

“Are all of the bras padded?” I asked naively.

She blinked twice. “Well, most are, because that’s what everyone wants.  Here are a few that aren’t.”

I held up one, and, though it was less padded, it still seemed cushiony.

“They all seem padded,” I said.

She smiled. “We prefer the term ‘lined.'”

“But if you’re not Dolly Parton, isn’t that kind of like false advertising?” I asked.

“Well, we prefer the term ‘enhancement.'”

Maybe everything in life is about the way you frame it in your mind.  If your cup doesn’t runneth over, so to speak, maybe it’s no sin to embellish your assets. And even though this analogy is kind of a stretch, maybe – like those padded bras – everything in our lives should be cushioned.  Maybe even the news should be filtered and softened so it’s easier to digest.

The word “gospel” translates to “good news.” You might not even realize that good news exists if you only look at the news programs running all day on television.  But there really are people in the world who do good things and expect no reward, like the man who lifted a car off of two injured children and didn’t wait around for recognition. I also loved the story from Guideposts Magazine about the whole town that adopted foster children, and the story of an unsung hero on the California Highway Patrol determined to save despondent people from jumping off the Golden Gate Bridge.