Serve God every day. Serve Him in all you do.

If you’re like me, you’ve heard this and wondered. How? How can I do this and be who I am? Or does it mean that I should be a missionary or a preacher?

Because I’m not cut from a missionary or preachers cloth. I’m not a people person. Sure, I like them well enough right up until I’ve had enough. And that threshold is way too low to be either a missionary or a preacher.

Are those the only ways to serve God? Are the rest of us, those in other professions, openly defying him?

That’s always been one of those uncomfortable thoughts in the back of my mind. Then I saw this video.

First of all, let me lay this out. I don’t know if waiter Michael Garcia is Christian or Buddhist or non-religious in every way. I don’t have a clue.

What I do know is that he served God along with a meal. He stood up for a child with Down’s Syndrom. He didn’t pretend not to hear it when another customer made rude comments. He stood firm and said no.

Whether you are a waiter or a writer, an electrician or a janitor, a surgeon and a steward, you too can serve God. It is in how you treat people with fairness and compassion. It is in demanding similar treatment from others.

Serve God every day. You don’t have to be a missionary or a preacher. You can still carry His word to others.

–SueBE

 

