The last two weeks have been trying without being disastrous.  My son graduated from high school, we had a huge party, he started his first real job (life guard), he is coaching on the swim team during his last season, my mother-in-law has moved back to the area but doesn’t drive, a friend is undergoing cancer treatments,  my father’s dementia is acting up because he knows he is going to move, we’ve all had a virus, and the rewrite I’ve been waiting for 2 months showed up 9 days before the next book is due.   And, as the icing on the cake, I agreed to help organize a workshop series a year ago and the woman who talked me into it has disappeared.  The second workshop is today and she’s at the beach on a long-planned vacation.  She wasn’t there for the first one either.

Hmm.  When I type it all out, I think I see why I’m so tired.  And more than a bit cranky.

And no matter how hard I try someone is there to tell me that I’m not trying hard enough.  I’m not doing enough. Or I’m doing it wrong.  Or I should just tell this person over here to …

You get the picture.  But most of the people telling me what to do have no clue.  But God does.  In fact, He’s a big picture kind of guy.  He knows what is coming.  He knows where we’ve been.  But he knows what is going on in all the other lives as well.

Maybe that’s one of the reasons that as Christians we are encouraged to listen for that still small voice.

And the best way to do that is in quiet.

So if you’ll excuse me…

–SueBE

