Generally, my post goes up Friday night.  Here it is Saturday afternoon and I’m just now sitting down to write.  I could tell you that I’m running late because I have a book due Monday that has been consuming my energies.  True enough.

I could also tell you that I had a cold.  Also true.

But I’ve also been putting it off because I just don’t know what to say in the face of the gas attacks in Syria and our own military response.  The day American missiles flew, my 18 year-old son filled out and filed his Selective Service registration.

I look back and I shudder.  I look forward . . . and I just don’t know. There are so many wrong paths, so many destructive choices, so much hate and wrongdoing.

What should we do?  I’d love to say that I have eloquent answers, but I don’t.  I love to say that I have a detailed plan, but that wouldn’t be true.

Then I pulled up this graphic for today.  Trust in the slow work of God.

I took a deep breath.  Trust God.  Trust that it might take a while.  But trust God.

I can do that.  I can trust in God while questioning man.  I can pray for justice even if I’m not sure how to bring it about. And even if I don’t know the big plan, I can do small things with compassion and love.

I may not be striving forward with confidence today but I am looking to Him.  Listening for Him.  And acting as His hands on Earth.  Trust.  Pray.  Compassion and love.

Right now its all that I have.

–SueBE

