bible-998150_1920Last week, I read a blog post about selecting a Bible verse to pray throughout the year. It’s an idea that appeals to me where I am at the moment.

Where am I?  I have to admit that my prayer life has been a little lax. What does lax mean?  It means that when someone asks for prayer, I pray.  When I read about someone who is hurting, I pray.  But I haven’t been spending a lot of quiet time with God.

I’m also not feeling 100%.  I thought I was having muscle spasms in my back.  But this morning as I was getting dressed my husband spotted a palm-sized rash, pink and blistered. It is probably shingles.

I’m also between jobs – a side-effect of being a freelance writer.  I’m always restless and a bit off when I’m between jobs.  But what to pray?  God knows what I need and telling him to send it RIGHT THIS VERY MINUTE seems a little self-absorbed.

I need a focus.  I need something to help me remember to make contact with God throughout my day.  I need a verse.  I’m going to print out several copies.  Then I’ll tape one here on my monitor.  Another will go on the treadmill.  One suggestion was to tape one to the bathroom mirror.

But first I have to pick a verse.  Sometimes I will pray it “as is,” reciting as I read.  Other times, when I see this reminder to reach out to God, I will improvise.  Here are four possible verses to use, starting with one of my favorites:

“I will lift up my eyes to the hills—From whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth.” (Psalm 121:1-2)

“When hard pressed, I cried to the Lord; he brought me into a spacious place. The Lord is with me; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?” (Psalm 118:5-6)

“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.” (John 5:14)

“Is anyone among you in trouble? Let them pray. Is anyone happy? Let them sing songs of praise.” (James 5:13)

Oh, Lord.  Remind me to look to you when I am afraid, when I am sick, when I don’t know what to do. You are constant and unchanging.  You know me and my needs.  I call on you.  Amen.

–SueBE

