You've Got a ChoiceTwenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. Mark Twain

I’ve got an Ad Blocker program running on my laptop, so instead of seeing seven ads on the page every time I open my email, Yahoo shows me the opposite of a smiley face. A frownie face, you might call it.

It seems to be saying, “I can’t show you ads you don’t want for products you don’t need! How could you do this to me?”

Doesn’t it seem like somebody is always trying to sell you something you didn’t ask for? And that so many are hell-bent on telling you how to live your life?

I saw an ad for a medication the other day in which the narrator says, “Don’t stop taking this medication unless your doctor tells you to.” That stopped me in my tracks. The doctor tells you what to do? Of course, I’ll listen to my doctor’s professional opinion, but – call me crazy! – I’ve always thought that, in the words of George W. Bush, “I’m the Decider.”

And then I got myself riled up when I read this article about a couple being sued to stop them from growing vegetables in their own front yard. “Aesthetics and uniformity are legitimate government purposes,” said the lawyer for the plaintiff.

Sometimes I think we forget that we have choices in life. So much seems decided for us by the powers-that-be that we might get out of the habit of thinking for ourselves.

Optimism is a choice and, no matter what the obstacles might be around you, it’s worth the risk to try something you’ve never done. Sure, you might fail, but if you don’t try, you’ll never know what you might have accomplished.

Back to the great American author, Mark Twain, for the final word: “Lord save us all from old age and broken health and a hope tree that has lost the faculty of putting out blossoms.”

