presenceWhat is that?  That would be my yoga mat.  When it isn’t at yoga with me, it is in the umbrella stand.  Yes, the umbrella stand is actually a pickle crock, and, yes, that is a hazard tape hung on a piece of bamboo.  I’m not sure why, but the boy put it there.  But you’re supposed to be focusing on the yoga mat.

Finding time to spend in the presence of God is tricky.  Since I work at home, there is always something that I could do be doing job wise.  And house work wise.  And family wise.  I may have the best of intentions but if anyone can find me — forget it.

This is one of the reasons that I love yoga.  Monday and Wednesday from 9 am to 10 am, I am in our city’s gym with 39 other yoga students and their yoga mats.  Yes, we stretch and push ourselves.  Yes, we focus on our breath.  But for 10 minutes at the end of each session, we simply are.

Each of us on our own yoga mat.  I know I’m not the only one who uses this time to seek His presence.  The lady next to me sometimes prays audibly.  There are people who cross themselves at the end of relaxation.  And I’m sure that I’m not the only one who uses this time to simply be and listen.

Presence.  It isn’t what I was expecting to get out of yoga but it has been one of the biggest blessings.

–SueBE

