Doubt“I don’t know what God wants me to do.”  A friend has been doing a lot of praying lately as he seeks God’s path for his life.  A new job?  School?  A new city?  The choices are endless and so is the doubt. Why is God silent when we ask, plead, and demand answers?

When this happens in my life, I suspect that the silence can mean one of three things.  The first is that I’m not really listening.  I know what I want and what I want God to say.  With my goal in sight, I just want God to tell me that I’m right and tell me right now.  Frankly, what I need to do is sit down and shush.  Only then can I hear that quiet voice which, unfortunately, may very well tell me something that I don’t want to know.

There is also the possibility that I don’t like the answer that I’m getting.  Certainly THAT can’t be the plan.  Thanks but no thanks, I’ll wait for the real answer, God.  Yeah.  I can be a little slow.  Like the time I clearly heard God telling me to join the choir.  Clearly.  But I didn’t listen because I hadn’t sung in over 20 years.  And I have stage fright.  And I’m not as good as . . . my excuses were endless.  But that’s okay.  God is persistent.  I’m slow but I eventually got the message.

Last but not least, there are the times that God really is quiet.  Maybe now isn’t the time for the solution that we need.  Or we really shouldn’t make the change we are demanding.  Have faith.  The answer will come but it will come in God’s time.

The key is keeping calm, keeping quiet, and keeping open to hear.

–SueBE

