ISimplicity have to admit.  This one was a little tough.  It isn’t that I’m an astonishingly complicated person it is just that what is simple is important to me.  It is one of the ways that I leave room in my life for God.  Chosing what to photograph wasn’t so much a matter of “I don’t have any ideas” as it was “I have too many ideas.”

I finally chose to photograph one of the shadow boxes I finally finished for our family room.  I have friends who move in and have all their art up and the house decorated in four weeks.  In comparison, I’m on geological time.

This shadow box contains an ammonite (lower) and a trilobite (upper).  They are two of the fossils that my now sixteen-year-old found when he went on a fossil hike as a grade schooler.  He slipped and sat down in a muddy creek and when I came to pick him up the teacher’s aide was worried that I’d be mad.  I still remember this young man trying to calm me down and Jared turned around to show off his mud — hips to ankles.

Our family room is full of simple treasures like this.  A sheet of mica from a geology class.  A mason jar of crystals from a hike.  Another full of shells from the beach.  All are simple treasures that remind us of the many blessings and experiences we have experienced in God’s world.  Gentle reminders about why we need to be good stewards.

–SueBE

