Like so many people, there’s nothing I like more than seeing a great movie on a big screen in a theater. At one point, I used to go every single week, partly because I had a writing gig as a movie reviewer, but mainly because I love to watch stories come to life. Along with the popcorn, I’ve found some crunchy nuggets of wisdom in dialogue from films I’ve seen – sometimes even universal truths.

When you want some inspiration:

Carpe diem. Seize the day! Make your lives extraordinary.

When troubles come knocking at your door:

I want to be alone.

You talkin to me?

Go ahead. Make my day.

When you want to keep it all in perspective:

Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

Just keep swimming.

When you need to stand up to challenges:

Nobody puts Baby in a corner.

I’ll be back.

I’m mad as heck and I’m not going to take this anymore!

When things get hectic and hairy:

Toto, I’ve got a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.

Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy night.

When you want to make changes in your life:

If you build it, they will come.

I am the Captain now.

When you need a reminder that you never walk alone:

I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

You had me at hello.

May the Force be with you.

If you think nobody sees what you’re going through, never forget that you’ve got a silent partner – always available on spiritual speed-dial (AKA prayer.) May your life always be blessed and your popcorn always be fresh as you create the story of your own life. Here’s looking at you, kid!

Credits, in Order of Appearance:
Dead Poets’ Society
Grand Hotel
Taxi Driver
Sudden Impact
Forrest Gump
Finding Nemo
Dirty Dancing
The Terminator
Network
The Wizard of Oz
All About Eve
Field of Dreams
Captain Phillips
Casablanca
Jerry Maguire
Star Wars
Casablanca

