One of my favorite singers is Gladys Knight, but I haven’t listened to her CDs in years – not since she made a comment so disturbing, I couldn’t bring myself to get on that “Midnight Train to Georgia” ever again.

Apparently, fourteen-year-old Paris Jackson had called her aunt, singer Janet Jackson, a derogatory name, leading Knight to say, “If she had called me that, she wouldn’t have any teeth.”

Of course, this could have been hyperbole in the heat of the moment, but it really bothered me. It’s so important to teach this child to do the right thing, she’s willing to do the wrong thing and knock out her teeth to teach her a lesson.

If you look at the headlines lately, it seems people are being moved by their convictions to do some very extreme things. You can bet that none of them feel as if they’re criminals or terrorists – or even bad parents.

The truth is that the people doing the wrong thing aren’t winning; they just get all the press. Even though most of us are doing the right thing, you might not know it when you read the news.

Consider the case of the man so committed to the sanctity of life that he gunned down three people at a Planned Parenthood clinic. Then there’s the “white supremacist” on trial for killing three people outside a Jewish community center who wouldn’t be considered “supreme” by any measure, even if compared to a single-celled amoeba.

Since most of us start the day by looking at the news on the internet and reading about all of the bad things happening in the world, maybe for every depressing news story we view, we should read an uplifting quote. In this post, I mentioned three examples of negativity in the world, so let me counteract them with the antidote: positive thoughts.

There is some good in this world, and it’s worth fighting for. JRR Tolkien

In the end, love wins. It does win. We know it wins. When a person dies, love isn’t turned off like a faucet. It is an amazingly resilient part of us.  JK Rowling

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world. John 16:33 The Bible (ESV)

