take tine offThis is my third or fourth attempt at a post for this week. None of the others came together.  They didn’t feel genuine.  But I knew I had to get the post done. And so the pressure mounted.

Then I reread Lori’s post. What is separating me from God? Review my use of time.

Nope.  Nothing.  Reaching to the other side of the desk, I tapped my son.  “I don’t know what to write about. Help!”  He tried to help me brainstorm but, again, nothing felt right.  “Mom, what you need to do is take a break…”  He’s sixteen so this wasn’t ‘out of the mouths of babes’ but he had it right.

Yes, I’ve been busy in general helping my Dad and the school choir, attending swim meets, etc. But I’ve also been super busy with work.  Looking at the calendar I realized that I haven’t taken a weekend off for at least a month, but more likely two.

So that’s what I’m going to do. I’m taking this weekend off. As soon as I decided this, I got an e-mail from my editor.  “Good start but turn in a whole new outline before you start writing the book…”

Part of my brain says I should work, but taking the weekend off was the right idea.  Making that decision felt cathartic, so I’m sticking with it. I have to get rid of this pressured, shattered feeling.

When I’m shattered, I can’t connect with God. So I’m going to go back to my modified Sabbath practice.  I say modified because I have to bake for church.  I may help my husband drop the new bed in the pickup.  Or wax the dining room floor. But these are all things I enjoy doing.  Yes – even waxing the floor and working on the truck. I love working with my hands and lately I haven’t taken the time to do it.

When I work, I think and I pray.  And when I pray?  I finally connect with God.

–SueBE

