I used to have a hairdresser that was turning herself into a human beef jerky: she smoked like a chimney and tanned till her skin was like leather. Even with bad habits such as tanning and smoking, the thing that really made me feel for her was the need to slather on enormous amounts of make-up, including sparkly fake eyelashes – glued on, yet! 

When I think of the things we women do to beautify ourselves, I have to wonder if it’s all worth it.

How in the world did we begin this habit of festooning our eyes in particular? Was there a cavewoman in prehistoric times – let’s call her Marge – who picked up a piece of burnt charcoal and said, “Hey! Me draw marks around eyes! Look much pretty!”

I know for a fact that there wasn’t a tanning salon on Marge’s block. Surely no such thing as lip gloss!

Why do we go to such lengths with artificial means to achieve “natural beauty”? Is this what’s really important in life, anyway? If we’re putting our energy into hiding our blemishes and figure flaws, we might miss out on a whole constellation of blessings. Maybe it’s okay to show up, just as ourselves.

There’s a passage from scripture that speaks to me, no matter what subject is on my mind.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28 NIV

In this case, it’s telling me that I don’t have to wear myself out trying to be like everyone else. There’s no need to get nipped and tucked, botoxed and bejeweled. I can be who I am, secure in the knowledge that God accepts me, whatever may come.

Maya Angelou said, “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

They don’t remember that your eyebrows weren’t tweezed. They remember how you brought them chicken soup when they were sick. Now that’s what I call a beautiful thing.

