“I can’t believe you (fill in the blank), not when you claim to be a Christian.”

landscape-nature-hills-churchThere are so many things I am that one person or another has told me are inconsistent with Christianity.  I am liberal and tend to vote Democrat.  I am a yoga student.  I read fantasy and science fiction.  I allow my son to play role playing games.  I am a scientist.  I believe in evolution.  The list goes on and on and on.

And yet, I believe.  I believe that God exists and that He is so much greater than anything I can truly understand.  As St. Anselm said, “God is that than which nothing greater can be conceived.”

I believe that I am His.  I am his child, his daughter and a part of his creation.  He made me the way that I am – introverted and sassy and curious.

I believe that I am His Hands and His Feet.  When I do what he would have me do – helping those who need help, whether that help be food or hope – I carry Him into the world.  Through my actions, people glimpse Him in a way that helps make Him personal for them.

I believe that in spite of so much that is evil and wrong and bad, that there is also much that is good and honorable and God-like.  There is good and there will be good even when we have troubles perceiving it.  As Julian of Norwich said, “All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of things shall be well.”

I believe that He is God.  I believe that I am His. And that is what really matters.

–SueBE

