My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness.  2 Corinthians 12:9 (MSG)

Chris Christie, currently on the stump to be the Republican nominee for president, got ejected from a section on an Amtrak train designated a peaceful area.

A politician in a quiet car. Now I’ve heard everything!

Some things really don’t make sense, no matter how you slice them.

Here are some things you just can’t find, try as you might:

  • the right partner in the wrong place
  • a good job in a bad environment
  • a home in a hostile land

The other day, as I looked back over my life, I got mad at God for allowing me to make bad choices at pivotal points.  

I looked at that sentence: “…allowing me to make bad choices.”

You caught it, too, right? Choices are just that. My decisions.

We often think of circumstances as being beyond our control, but how often is that really true?

What if this is what we came here for? The experiences, all of them – the pain and the joy. The tedium and the tension. The drunk uncles and the tiny toddler toes.

What if we used to be angels on clouds, playing harps/dodging pigeons all the day long and decided we needed an adventure? 🙂  Well, I doubt that was the case, but I do know that since we’re here, we may as well jump in with both feet and live to the fullest.

There’s no need to get comfortable in the mud. If something doesn’t work for you, don’t bend into contortions trying to fit into an unfit environment.

Don’t see it as a mistake if you’ve learned from it. Remind yourself: That wasn’t right for me. Now I know what I really want. 

The thing about grace is, God shows up, on the darkest night of the longest day. And tomorrow is a chance to start again.

