declutterRecently I’ve seen a number of posts and write-ups about moving your focus from “stuff” to God during Lent.  One of them challenges the reader to get rid of one full trash bag each day in Lent for forty bags in all.

Forty bags of stuff seems overwhelming, and I guess that’s the point. If I’m overloaded by stuff, than I’m not focusing on God which makes sense.

That said, I haven’t accepted the challenge.  I’m goal oriented in the extreme.  Give me that particular goal and I will be bound and determined to get rid of a bag of stuff a day.  Personally, I don’t know that I could do that and focus on God at the same time.

Yes, I would be decluttering but my focus wouldn’t be on God.  It would be on the clutter.  The end result might be good, but God would still not be my focus as I worked to fill bag after bag. And only the days I couldn’t manage it?  Those days would be both frustrating and demoralizing.  I know myself well enough to know that.

That said, I’m going back to a challenge that I set up for myself at the beginning of the year.  It fell by the wayside for a week or so as I worked on two deadlines.  I’m getting rid of at least one thing every day.

Some things go in the recycling.  We’re heaving duty recyclers around here.  We have rolling cans for both recycling and trash and we fill our recycling to capacity much more than we fill our entire trash can. We’ve always encouraged our son to recycle.  It’s one way that we take care of the Earth over which God granted us stewardship.

Some things to in the “giveaway” pile.  Our church has two rummage sales and a book sale every year.  Every item that they sell earns a bit toward our annual operating expenses.  Money that doesn’t pay the bills goes into mission.  We are big on supporting our local food pantry and Heifer.  Feed the poor.

You can declutter and focus on God.  Just make sure to set goals that keep your focus on Him instead of the stuff all around you.

–SueBE

