Lenten ListWhat are your plans for Lent? I’m planning to pray.

Many people giving something up for Lent. Friends have given up coffee, chocolate, carbs, or television. One year my family gave up soda. That was several years ago and I still almost never drink it. This wasn’t part of my plan, but apparently God had other ideas.

This year, instead of giving something up, I’m going to try to develop a new prayer habit. I’m going to pray for my enemies.

I’m not James Bond, so I don’t have real enemies. No one is out there planning my demise even as I type this.

But we all have trouble-makers in our lives. You know what I mean – those people who, when we see them, cause our shoulders to tense up and our eyes to narrow. We know trouble is coming. For my family, this list includes someone whose teasing has a knife-sharp edge as well as someone who cheats and lies.

Instead of telling God how to fix these people, and I have some very firm ideas on the subject, I’m going to ask him for understanding and healing. Help me to understand what makes them so unhappy, angry or scared that they take it out on other people. I am going to ask him to bring them blessings and healing abundantly so that their hollow places are filled.

I’m not sure why this is what I need to do.  Yes, it is a good idea but I don’t think it is my idea.  I feel to compelled to do this thing and I know it will be hard to do it right.

So I’m going to force myself to make a list so that each day in Lent I can pray for these people. I’m going to post the list at my computer so that when I see it I will pray. Without the list, without it placed as a reminder, I know I would put it off.  Why would I put it off? Because as much as I know that I need to do this, I know it is going to be so very hard.

–SueBE

