2015I’ve been reading numerous blog posts about choosing a faith word for 2015.  The idea is that you need to open your heart and mind to God and receive your word for 2015.  It might be joy or even faith.

I can’t say that I tried really hard because the idea just didn’t feel right for me. Then I read Brooke McGothlin’s post about choosing a verse to pray throughout 2015.  As I carefully read through her instructions, a verse popped into my head.

Know ye that the Lord is God: It is he that hath made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.  (Psalm 100:3)

I wasn’t surprised that this verse made a hasty appearance.  After all, it may very well be my favorite.  It’s a verse a lot of people need to hear when they get all judgmental about who is and is not a child of God, who is and is not made in his image . . .

Whoa.

Was that just me being . . . judgmental?  Surely not?  God couldn’t be trying to tell ME something, could he?  A message about not judging the judgmental?  That these people are just as much his children as I am even if they don’t do things my way or shush up when I’m sick of listening to them?

No doubt, praying a verse spoke to me because that’s what I needed to hear, and the verse that I most need to take to heart is one of my favorites.  I’m not going to say that I’m thrilled with the idea, because I know that doing this and doing it sincerely are going to be difficult. But I also know that I’m going to give it a go.  I suspect this verse has been my favorite for quite some time because God has been trying to tell me something, something I’ve been a little slow to perceive.

Does either choosing a faith word or praying a verse speak to you?  If so, which word or verse will you choose?

–SueBE

