I like to think that I’m a good judge of character. I’m also fairly savvy when it comes to spotting a sales pitch from somebody trying to sell me a bill of goods.

But I got an email from Oprah today. Oh, I know what you’re saying. You don’t know Oprah! That’s true; I don’t really know her personally. But I have to admit it: I just love Oprah. In some ways, I feel like she’s my virtual BFF.

So when I got the email from O – as some of us call her – and it said, “Convert to Digital,” I took it as a mandate.

I subscribe to her magazine, so what the email said was that I have the option of converting to digital format, like Kindle.

But I’ll be honest. Even if she was telling me to convert to digital in some kind of odd sci-fi way, like “Become a robot.” Heck, I’d do it.

If she said, “Replace your knees and elbows with robot parts,” I’ve gotta tell ya. I’d seriously consider it.

After all, they’re durable.  You’d need less skin cream in the winter.  You could do Zumba more easily.

To me, it’s as if she just knows things. It’s almost mysterious, the way Oprah’s been able to tap into the zeitgeist and stay relevant over the course of so many years. In some ways, she’s already converted me.

Seems like she’s been everywhere all at once lately, but in the back of my mind, I know she’s not omnipresent. And even though she’s got a deep well of wisdom to draw from, I realize that she’s not omniscient.

Most important, I know that she seems compassionate, but there’s only One on whom I call when troubles weigh heavy on my mind.

At the end of the day, it’s good to have role models, but I never forget my rock and my foundation.

So no matter who seems to have taken over the world – whether it be my icon, Oprah, or perhaps the robots themselves – I never forget who’s really running the show. And that’s what I know for sure.

