snowI had to laugh when I read Lori’s post.  “Winter has murdered fall…”

That’s definitely one way to put it. I’ve seen flurries twice this week and its only mid-November.  The sky has been gray all day and we’ve got snow, real snow, in the forecast for tomorrow.

But the Youth Group is also having a chili luncheon for a fund raiser.  Each family is supposed to bring two desserts.  What will happen with the fund raiser if we get inches of snow as predicted?  Will the kids meet their goal? And who will eat all those desserts?  People may very well stay home.

What to do?  Bake and hope for the best?  Or buy a gallon of milk and prep for the worst?

The reality is that although God may know what tomorrow will bring, we don’t have a clue.  We obsess.  We worry.  We fret.  And I’m not just talking about the weather either.

I’m not going to say that I’m always excellent at this, but I try to leave it in God’s hands.  Instead of fussing, I do what I can do with the understanding that God has a plan. I may not know what it is, but God who is merciful and just — he knows.

The first thing that I did, in spite of the grey skies, was buy daffodil and crocus bulbs.  They will add some color and verve to God’s world come spring, which will come in spite of all our hand ringing.

Then I made rice crispy treats and baked a pan of brownies.  If there aren’t enough people at church to eat all the desserts, I might have a little something to bring home and nibble while I decide where to plant the bulbs in preparation for spring.  Only God knows exactly when it will warm up but I can do what I can do – have Faith that even if snow falls tomorrow, spring will come.

–SueBE

