Theology vs. The ObviousOne of the members of my health care team is a medical assistant who works at my neurologist’s office. Her name is Luz, and she really lives up to her name – she’s a source of light and warmth. I feel better just talking to her on the phone.

So Luz called to tell me the results of my recent MRI, but my phone started to get hinky, cutting out some of what she was saying.

“Just wanted to let you know….”

I swear, I heard her say to me, “there’s no good news.”

Bracing myself for the worst, I went to another room and said, “Would you mind repeating that please?”

She said, “Of course. Just wanted to let you know, there’s no new lesions.”

Phew.  I nearly fell over with relief. One of the ways my neurologist tracks the course of my multiple sclerosis is by looking at the number of white lesions on my brain, as shown by the MRI. If there are no new lesions, it’s a good sign. Even though my symptoms may not be improving, they’re not getting worse.  I’ll take that.

My mind heard Luz say, there’s no good news. Luckily, even though I did tense up when I thought there was bad news, I was still able to stay in that centered place in my soul – some call it “entering into the rest of God” – and I didn’t over-react.  My heart skipped a beat or two, but I waited to hear what she was saying the second time before I went into a tail-spin.

Now, I don’t always maintain such equanimity, oh no.  Just ask my teen-age son. Yep, he’s got stories for you!  But it is possible to leave the burdens in God’s hands so you don’t feel so heavy-laden. I’m so grateful we can always let go and let God.

