During the past month, there were some ups and downs in my life.

  • My car was recalled, and stayed in the repair shop for over a month. 
  • Somebody ran over my mailbox in the middle of the night.
  • The mortgage and maintenance of a house is too much for someone with a disability, so I realized I’ll need to re-locate.
  • After years of separation from my husband, I finally filed divorce papers.

On the other hand:

  • I found an honest auto repair shop.  They treated me like gold and went the extra mile for me. 
  • I got to know the people at the post office – they never sit down, and have to be stared at by a long line of customers awaiting their turn, but still maintain a positive attitude.
  • In my search for a new place to live, I realized that I’m actually kind of a small town person, although I presently live in the hustle and bustle of New Jersey. It made me think I should keep my mind open as God makes a new home available to me.
  • I reluctantly attended a court-mandated session for people getting divorced and realized that, even though my ex moved out years ago and we’ve long since worked out custody and support, I’ve got nothing on paper to document it. Without this session, I’d never have gotten these loose ends wrapped up and finalized once and for all.

So I realized that maybe every cloud does have a silver lining and that God’s grace will always show up on time.  It’s easier to believe this after the fact, of course – while you’re going through it, all you can see is the storm.  But I’ve come to realize that even on a cloudy day, the sun is shining somewhere in the world. I’ve just to got to sit tight till the rays turn my way again.

