worshipIf you think that my word for the overwhelmed person is stress, think again.  We all have enough of that, thank you.

No, my word is worship.

The reality is that some stress is unavoidable.  I just finished a contracted job, writing a high school level book on the ancient Maya.  From first contact to delivery of the finished product, I had 6 weeks.  I’d love to say that there were no difficulties but you can’t take on a project like that without some stress.  But it wasn’t as bad as I expected.

We ate a lot of quick and simple meals. People who asked me to take something else on got a firm NO.  Some of them had to hear it more than once, but I can repeat myself quite well.  I am a mom.

But I also didn’t cut myself off from other people.  I met a friend for lunch.  I did things with my family including scouting events and school events.  And I still went to church.  That said, my pastor was surprised to see me there 7 days before the big deadline.

“I’ve been reading your posts on Facebook,” she said.  “I thought you’d be home working.”

If I had done that, the stress would have been much worse.  Worship provides me with time away from the day-to-day.  I don’t have to look at the laundry that isn’t folded, the pages left to write or the messages I need to return.

Our services include some quite time to simply sit and be with God.  For these few minutes, I could sit and be.  I could sit and listen.  I could absorb.

And, last, but not least, worship provided me with the prayer and music that turns my focus back to God.

If you are feeling stressed, worship.  It may mean something different for you than it does for me, but it will turn your focus to Him and open your heart and soul to his Love.

–SueBE

