As I get older, I feel the need to open up to friends and family about my idiosyncrasies. Most of them know I’m slightly psychic (you’re skeptical? I predicted that!) and have long experienced what I’m loosely calling “prophetic dreams.”  It isn’t that God is sending me a list of the next Ten Commandments that He forget to give to Moses; no, it’s more like the spiritual equivalent of a fortune cookie.

This is what I took away from my last “prophetic dream”:

  • Pick your projects
  • Take care of your people
  • Hold God’s hand

Rather a stone’s throw from what we’ve already learned from the Bible, don’t you think?

But I really needed that “word from God” – even if it’s actually only something my sleeping psyche is telling me and it’s a re-hash of what I already believe. I’ve been feeling hinky lately (as we say in Jersey) and it seemed like things were going haywire.

A week and a half ago, my well pump stopped working and my family was without running water for a week.  It was like we were camping in our own home – suddenly we were back in the olden days. We couldn’t wash clothes, take a shower, or even wash our hands.

At the same time, I was being treated for a condition called Sjogren’s Syndrome – a condition which completely dehydrates you.  It made my eyes so dry that I’d wake up feeling as if they were glued shut.  It made my mouth so dry that my teeth actually began to chip and fall out!

Water had played a role in a previous prophetic dream I had, as one of the “three keys to life,” which I wrote about on my blog a year or two ago.  With the events of the past couple of weeks, I got to see firsthand how important water is in our lives, and in our bodies.

I’ve also felt that my connection to my faith has been drying up.  Not that I’m losing faith; it’s more like I’m not finding the spiritual sustenance that would lead me back to restoration when I hit a dry patch. I’ve focused on chronic pain and MS symptoms instead of counting my blessings each morning, and it’s kept me from doing things that usually lift me up, like writing posts on this bloggie.

Luckily, I always (eventually) find my way back to my senses, and I throw my whole heart into praying and trusting God, while at the same time, making a practical list of what I need to do to get things moving in the right direction.

The well is flowing, water is abundant again, and the Good Book restored my soul with a passage that really resonates with me:

Let the one who is thirsty come; and let the one who wishes take the free gift of the water of life.

Revelation 22:17

Nothing like a nudge from above to get back into the flow again.

