words of loveToday (Sunday) was the day that we celebrated Christ’s baptism. As part of the Sunday school lesson, my husband discussed Mathew 3:16 – 17 with his class. These verses say:

16 As soon as Jesus was baptized, he went up out of the water. At that moment heaven was opened, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him. 17 And a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.”

The question that my husband asked was this – was Jesus the only one who saw the Spirit of God descending and heard His Blessing? Or was this something that everyone present heard?

As part of the service, we reaffirmed out own baptisms. Baptism by water represents the Holy Spirit washing over us. Today was a chance to contemplate, is this Spirit visible to others in how we live? Or is it something that remains unseen by those around us?

–SueBE

