UniqueMy name is Sue and I am an introvert.

When I tell people I’m an introvert, they laugh.  Why?  Because, when I’m in the mood, I am outgoing.  I talk to and genuinely enjoy people, right up until I’ve had enough.  Being with people isn’t where I get my energy.  My energy comes from time spent away from noise and crowds.  I need quiet time.

This means that sometimes people will ask me to do something, and I have to tell them no.  My schedule is too crowded, my days are too busy.  I need some time to myself even if what they are asking me to participate in is a church activity.

Sometimes that gets me a funny look.  “God wants us to (fill in the blank).”

I know this.  I am, after all, fairly intelligent, and I’ve been paying attention.

But, I’m still an introvert, and I’ve finally come to the realization that I’m an introvert because this is how God made me.  It isn’t because there was too much sulfur in the water when I was a child.  Or because I didn’t have a small pox vaccine.  Or because I never had braces.

This is the way that God made me. I can’t help but believe that if God made me an introvert, he must be okay with it. As a result, I don’t fight it.

If someone asks me to do something, I pay attention to my first reaction.  Community choir.  Teach a class.  Participate in a fund raiser.  I could do any of it.  I have the skills.  But if my first instinct is to curl up in a ball, I simply thank them and tell them that I can’t.

Some people understand.  Others don’t.  But that’s okay.

My name is Sue, I’m an introvert, and this is how He made me.

–SueBE

