words of loveAs I read Lori’s post last week, I caught myself nodding along.

Last weekend, my church sponsored Sunday Funday. We split into groups and played games, did activities and discussed various things to do with friendship. The group I was in discussed Godly words vs. mean words.

Our session leader drew two trees. One was nourished with Godly words. Beneath this tree, we taped the kinds words that we can say to people. On the branches we taped green healthy leaves. On each leaf was written the positive feeling that these words can bring into people’s hearts.

Beside this tree was a tree nourished with hateful words. Among the roots, we taped harsh and hurtful words. In the branches we taped withered, brown leaves complete with the negative feelings that these words cause.

I love hearing someone use the kind words when they are encouraging one of our youth or thanking someone for doing something special. It is such an easy way to lift someone up.

While most of us would avoid saying the unkind words to someone face to face, I am amazed at how often I see them on signs waved at rallies, on t-shirts or bumper stickers or even in blog comments and on Facebook. We think we are sticking up for ourselves and just letting people know where we stand on the political spectrum. It’s our right!

And yet, we are blinding people to the love and grace that is to be found in Christ. How then can we be truly right when we toss around these hateful, un-Godly words?

–SueBE

