By Madboy74 (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Presbyterian Cross.

How good are you at seeing God in the everyday?

I was surprised to find out that this is one of the tenets of Celtic Christianity.  The Celtic Christian tradition developed as the European mainland, centered around Rome, fell into the Dark Ages.  With Rome, and the Catholic Church, under siege by one group after another, small independent abbeys thrived in Celtic Britain.  These abbeys worked well in the Celtic setting because the people lived in clan settlements.  These family groupings were very different from the cities and towns where most Europeans lived.

This is the tradition that gave birth to the cross on the right.  I’m sure you know it is a Celtic cross, but this cross is special because it combines the Christian cross with the sun, Christ and nature.  The Cross and Light.  This is especially significant to me personally because this is known as the Presbyterian Cross.

Celtic Christians were adept at seeing God all around them.  This meant that they saw Him in the natural world, in the wind and the rain and, obviously, the sun.

But they also saw him throughout their everyday lives.  As a result they created a variety of prayers and blessings as around the many things they did every day.  My favorite is a prayer for banking (smooring) the fire at night.

Lord, preserve the fire,
As Christ preserves us all.
Lord, may its warmth remain in our midst,
As Christ is always among us.
Lord, may it rise to life in the morning,
as we shall rise with Christ to eternal life.
Amen

I have to admit, I am much more skilled at seeing God in nature than I am at seeing my small daily tasks as being connected to Him in any meaningful way.  How would each day differ if I blessed each task with a meaningful prayer?  I’m not sure, but I plan to find out.

–SueBE

