“Please let her have an easy rest-of-the-day,” I said.

Someone in my life who’s been an encourager and a real resource for me and my son was having a hectic day, so I said a silent prayer for her.

I paused in my prayer as I realized… wait a minute… she wouldn’t want that!

Not that she doesn’t want an easy day, it’s just that she’s not daunted by a hard day or a challenge. Her job is actually to problem-solve, and she does it with great aplomb. Nah, this lady loves a project.  She’s a can-do girl; she loves to get her hands on a thing that needs to be accomplished and just, well, get-r-done.  She’s a DIY sort; her idea of a relaxing vacation is tearing out the kitchen floor and doing some demo.

“Let me amend that prayer…Please give her a good rest-of-the-day,” I said to God.

When I talk to this can-do girl, I feel like she’s fully listening to me and completely on my side.  So I decided to pray that everyone she encountered would be on the same wavelength: reasonable, compassionate, and open-hearted. And that whatever situation arose, all the players would be working toward the same goal.  Now, this might not be as potent as asking God to give her a miracle or a million dollars, but I think the net effect for this can-do girl will be the same:  a good life with a sense of purpose and a feeling of community.

After all, just because a day has challenges doesn’t mean it’s not a good day. Most of the time, we handle large issues and keep on moving, but what really adds a nice vibe to a day are the small moments.  I decided to pray for unexpected interactions that lift us up or lighten our load today:

  • A fascinating project to get your hands on and keep your mind percolating.
  • A windfall of warmth so that everyone you meet today is in a wonderful mood.
  • An interesting (and respectful) philosophical discussion with strangers at the bus stop.
  • Having your bangs fall into the right place in the morning without power tools and plastered-on product.
  • A day with a “just because” friendship card in the mailbox (and not one bill or piece of junk mail.)
  • The best milkshake of your life – so thick you can stand a straw in it.
  • Pleasures – not problems – that come in threes.
  • A fluffy dog on the couch, waiting for you to pat her head.

A day filled with bona fide blessings isn’t necessarily one that’s problem-free.  It’s one you can meet where you are with prayer and persistence, secure in the knowledge that you’ll be provided with what you need to create a meaningful, marvelous life.

May you all have a good rest-of-the-day!

