This audiobook made me reconsider how I address God.

I’ve written about this topic before but I learned something new this week, but first how do you address God in prayer?

Some people love the familiar and call him Papa and even Daddy God. I’ll be the first to admit it. This makes me cringe. Yes, my husband tells that I visibly flinch. It just seems so informal, so personal.

Not that I don’t have a personal relationship with God. I do, but we’re still talking about God.

G-O-D. The Creator of All Things. He of whom nothing greater can be conceived. A little formality seems in order. For goodness sakes, if you don’t believe me, read the Bible (yes, I really do prefer the King James), say the old prayers, sing my favorite hymns (Be Thou My Vision comes to mind).

Now imagine my surprise this week as I was finishing up Karen Cushman’s Alchemy and Meggy Swann. I listened to the audio version and was crocheting away as the author’s note was read. Cushman is an amazing researcher and she had her work cut out for her. This book is set in Elizabethan England. Cushman explained that, in spite of how people would have spoken to each other, she chose to go with one second person personal pronoun. It would simply be confusing to switch between you and the less formal Thou.

Yep. Less formal Thou.

Cushman explained that, although we now think of thou as formal, it was actually the less formal form. It was used in the King James Bible because, after all, the whole point was to bring the Bible and God closer to the people.

What we now consider formal and old-fashioned was actually chosen for its informality. Talk about irony.

I guess it all comes down to this – use what you are most comfortable with and whatever brings you individually closer to the Creator.

–SueBE

 

