It has become a bit of a family joke. “I’m praying for you.”

When I was a teen, I learned to dread that phrase from my grandmother. It meant she was disappointed that I wasn’t doing something her way and she was praying for me to come around. It always sounded a bit like a threat. She was certain God was on her side and he had a message for me.

Of course, I was equally certain that God was not sending messages via my grandmother. Why? Because I was praying too.

So what do you do when you are praying for one thing and you are pretty certain someone else is praying for another solution altogether? When this happens in my own life, I generally resort to one line out of the Lord’s Prayer. Thy will be done. I pray that God’s will take place. I acknowledge that God’s Will will be best for everyone involved (and not just my selfish self). I also pray that I will figure out what it is sooner rather than later.

Thy will be done.

Four short, simple words.

But it is really hard for a Type-A personality like myself to pray it with any intention. In the end, I really and truly want things to go my way and I’m not above a few subtle hints to the Great Divine.

Still, I try to pray it and mean it although it can be pretty tough when you get a hint of what is coming and you know it isn’t going to be pleasant.

Maybe I should just go find someone else to pray for.

–SueBE

