“What do you think it all means?”

The question caught me off guard. “What does what mean?”

“Hurricane Sandy. All those people losing their homes.”

We were at a prayer meeting the evening of Election Day. I’d been dreading comments about politics, not questions about a hurricane. I gave the answer I always give. “It’s a natural disaster. God didn’t send it. He didn’t target anyone, but it is an opportunity to help others. We have been given a chance to show them His love.”

Comments about politics weren’t an issue until I got home. There I watched election results trickle in and went on Facebook. I was amazed – you would have thought that we were in the middle of another natural disaster. What could God be trying to tell us?

Frankly, I suspect it is the thing that He tells us most often.

“And now, dear lady, I am not writing you a new command but one we have had from the beginning. I ask that we love one another. And this is love: that we walk in obedience to his commands. As you have heard from the beginning, his command is that you walk in love.”
2 John 1:5-6

Walk in love. Whether you are confronted by a political loss or a natural disaster. In politics, treat each other with respect. Listen. Reach out. When a natural disaster strikes, treat the victims with respect. Listen. Reach out.

Walk in love. It is, after all, the command we have had from the beginning.

–SueBE

 

