We were barely out of our teens.  My friend and I were out, well past midnight, doing things we shouldn’t be doing with people we didn’t know.  One of them looked at me and said, “You look like a teacher or something.  What the heck are you doing here?”

I was thinking the same thing. Even though I tried to run with a wild crowd for that brief, wayward period, it was never my milieu.   Trying to be like everyone else.  Trying to be “good enough.”

There is a still, small voice inside that will gently nudge you, even if you don’t listen.  That’s your Soul Compass.  As you go through life, you’ll hear it.  And you’ll probably ignore it, as I did so frequently.

I worked at a company years ago that would give employees a gold watch at their retirement parties.  How ironic to give someone a timepiece after they’re off-the-clock.

In that office, the workload was ridiculous and deadlines unrealistic.  We found ourselves stressed and under-the-gun all day long.  The worst part was that employees were not treated well.

I remember thinking, if I can just get through this day, for the next fifty years, I can retire with a gold watch. Oh joy.  But is life about barely scraping by and feeling weighted down by duty and debt? Is having a job with a paycheck “good enough,” even if it sucks the life out of you?

This is my theory.  It almost sounds quaint, but I really believe this.

We’re not supposed to be anywhere – ever – where we don’t feel appreciated, welcomed, even loved.  But somehow, we’ve gotten off of that track.  We’re so used to people being disrespectful that we’ve re-calibrated our compasses.

As a child of God, it’s not just an option to have a peaceful, abundant life; it’s a birthright.  It may not happen overnight, but if you set your compass in that direction, you won’t just settle for “good enough.”

Make a plan to leave the intolerable circumstance and hold your head high till you can leave it.  In the meantime, stay true to your own standards.  Don’t return unpleasantness.  Take the high road.  Turn the other cheek.  Hold onto the hope that God didn’t create you to live a half-life like some piece of carbon in a lab.  After all, “God’s Word is better than a diamond, better than a diamond set between emeralds,” Psalms 19:10 MSG.  And if God said I’m entitled to live a better life, that’s “good enough” for me.

