“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.”
Aesop

Last weekend, I was on the computer when a friend posted on Facebook. A family member’s paid companion had taken off leaving that person without the help he needs and the house a disaster. My friend was busy cleaning and hoped for a cheery word to keep her going.

I sent up a prayer and responded, asking if she needed help.

“You don’t need to do that” came her answer.

It only took me a few minutes to get a water bottle and put on my shoes. Less than ten minutes later, I walked up her driveway. She’d done the worst of the cleaning but I helped put away dishes and we sorted art supplies. And she talked. We laughed and swapped horror stories and laughed some more.

When someone asks for prayers, how often do you do more than pray? I’m not belittling prayer. But how often is that all that we do? This is especially disturbing when you remember what Christ said, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ (Matthew 25:40)

He didn’t say, sit there and pray. No, he told us to do. And he didn’t give us an easy out. “You don’t have to do anything if they don’t ask for help.” Or even “Offer help and if they say no you can get on with whatever.”

No.

Whatever you do.

And he said that because we bless people not only through our prayers but through our actions. Actions are, in many ways, prayers made concrete.

So the next time you offer to pray for someone, think about what else you can do. Make your prayers tangible even if in only a small way.

–SueBE

