At my church, we say the Lord’s Prayer together as a congregation every week. This means that it is printed in our Bulletins and I have time to consider it line by line throughout the service.

Our Father
This is a big one for me. We don’t say My Father. We say Our Father. That means all of us. Not just the people who think like me and you. I need to try keeping this in mind as we work our way toward Election Day, especially when there are so many other people already questioning the religious devotion of someone who doesn’t see things their way. God doesn’t ask us to vote for one party or another. He asks us to Believe.

Thy will be done
On earth,
As it is in heaven.
Before I can do God’s will here on Earth, I need to learn what it is for any given situation. I’d like to say that I always remember to check in with Him before I do something major, but I don’t. This is especially true when I’m in the midst of something upsetting. Unfortunately, those are the times that I most need to discern what God’s will is.

Give us this day our daily bread.
The things that I need – such as food – come from God. In the Lord’s Prayer, Christ praised God for meeting the need for food before he mentioned sin (debt or trespasses). Praise God first. Truly thank Him.

And forgive us our debts,
As we forgive our debtors.
This one sometimes sends a chill down my spine. I am asking God to forgive me in the same way that I forgive others. This seems like a really good time to let go of grudges. None of us is perfect and we all fall far short of God even those of us who fill the pews on Sunday mornings.

Why not spend some time with The Lord’s Prayer this week and meditate on the parts that have special meaning for you?

–SueBE

