Years ago, there was an ad campaign directed at teenagers.  On the screen there was an image of an egg.  A somber voice said, “This is your brain.”  Then a pair of hands cracked the egg into a sizzling frying pan, and the voice intoned, “This is your brain on drugs.”

I think there’s a change as profound as this that happens when you find faith.  This is your soul.  This is your soul on God.  Only instead of feeling like you’re a scrambled egg in a frying pan, you feel like you’ve been put back together.  Your soul feels whole.

The thing is, there are so many people who claim to speak for God.  As we’ve seen throughout history, faith can be used as an instrument of healing, but also as a weapon of warfare.

So, how do you know which “way” is the right way?  Is there only one true religion?

On a more day-to-day level, how do you discern “God’s leading?”  For example, I’m waiting for God’s leading in terms of finding a church home, but what He seems to be saying in this case (as in so many others) is that I need to use my own best judgment.

If I’d grown up in a church (like Lori, who’s Catholic) and as I got older, found I disagreed with some of its tenets, it would be possible to find a way to change the church from within and voice my disagreements respectfully but firmly, the way Lori does.

But since I’m an adult (most of the time, anyway), I can’t bring myself to join a religion that I don’t fully agree with.  For a time, I attended Unitarian Universalist services but realized that having no creed is a problem as well.

Ideally, I’d like to create a church of my own.   As I said in a previous post, my beliefs are a hodge-podge of “the Zen Buddhist idea that we are all connected, the Native American focus on nature, and the notion that all prayer, in any tongue, reaches God,” so that’s what my church would focus on.  I’d also make it an inclusive faith that doesn’t just “tolerate” gays (and women, for that matter) and one that doesn’t regard science as the opposite of faith.

So even though I haven’t found my faith home yet, I do find spiritual sustenance in great books and prayer blogs (like this one) and my virtual network of fellow believers populate the pews in my mind.  Until then, I’ll keep my brain on positive things (so it doesn’t feel fried up and dried up) and I’ll keep my soul on God (so I’m still and serene even in the eye of a storm.)

